B-WARM works to encourage dialogue and education about lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) issues, increase the number of reconciling congregations, and stand in solidarity with all who have been excluded or marginalized by the Church.

Our Story

Members come from United Methodist churches from across the Baltimore-Washington Conference. Some of us are members of reconciling congregations; many of us are not. We are LGBT and straight people.

B-WARM meets quarterly (on a Saturday), with a meeting in each region of the Conference every year. Meetings are from 10:00 am to noon, with refreshments starting at 9:30am. There is time for fellowship, worship, and work at each meeting. An annual meeting is held each year, normally in June, to elect the steering committee. Also, we are affiliated with the Reconciling Ministries Network.

Mission Statement
The Baltimore-Washington Area Reconciling United Methodists seek to affirm lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and ensure the full participation of people of all sexual orientations and gender identities in the ministry and life of the United Methodist Church, particularly in the Baltimore-Washington Conference.

In pursuit of a fully inclusive and reconciled United Methodist Church that nurtures disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world, BWARM will:

  • Create and promote dialogue and education about the sacred worth of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) persons.

  • Reach out to and affirm LGBT United Methodists and their friends, families and loved ones.

  • Support and encourage congregations and individuals in the process of becoming reconciling.

  • Act to change exclusive and discriminatory policies and practices in the Church.

  • Stand in solidarity with all who have been excluded or marginalized by the Church and society.

  • Work within the United Methodist Church

  • Work within and support the Reconciling Ministries Network.

BWARM Steering Committee
Chair: Rev. Andrew Greenwood, Elder, Pastor at Pine Grove UMC, Parkton, MD
Vice Chair: Marge Kumaki, Laity, Silver Spring UMC, Silver Spring, MD
Secretary: Rev. Leo Yates, Jr., Deacon, Emmanuel UMC, Laurel, MD
Treasurer: George Kahl, Laity, Grace UMC, Baltimore, MD
Past Chair: Rev. Nancy Webb, Elder, Retired, Charge Conference: Grace UMC, Baltimore, MD
Education Chair: Ellen Bachman, Laity, Ellen Bachman, National UMC, Washington, DC
Affirmation/Outreach Chair: Mittie Quinn, Laity, Dumbarton UMC, Washington, DC
Advocacy Co-Chair: Rev. Deb Scott, Elder, Pastor at Lovely Lane UMC, Baltimore, MD
Advocacy Co-Chair: Rev. Angela Flanagan, Elder, Lead Pastor at Silver Spring UMC, Silver Spring, MD
Communications Chair: T.C. Morrow, Provisional Deacon, Foundry UMC, Washington, DC
Convener: Rev. Mary Jo Sims, Elder, Retired, Charge Conference: Arden UMC, Martinsburg, WV
At Large Member: Rev. Brian Jackson, Elder, Pastor at Randall Memorial UMC, Washington, DC
At Large Member: Steve Doxzen, Laity, Middletown UMC, Middletown, MD
At Large Member, Baltimore Region: Pastor Michael Carrington Jr., Pastor, Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial UMC, Baltimore, MD
At Large Member, Southern Region: Pastor Chris Broadwell, Pastor, Eastport UMC, Annapolis, MD
At Large Member, Washington Region: Rev. Michael Parker, Provisional Elder, Pastor at Bells UMC, Suitland, MD and Church of the Redeemer, Temple Hills, MD
At Large Member, Western Region: Megan Blizzard, Laity, Westminster UMC and Stone Chapel UMC
At Large Member, Young Adult: Rachel Livingston, Towson UMC, Towson, MD

Support BWARM through a financial contribution
BWARM is volunteer-led, but we do have expenses from time to time.  Your support is greatly appreciated! Checks may be payable to Grace United Methodist with BWARM on the memo line and mailed to:
Grace United Methodist
5407 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21210  

BWARM History
For more than a decade, BWARM has been active in the Baltimore-Washington conference. See what we've been up to over the years

Lift up the ministry of BWARM in your individual and community prayers.